Medicated And Mighty

I’ve always remained somewhat semi anonymous on this blog but today, I’m going to post a selfie to join the movement, #MedicatedAndMighty to show others that it’s nothing to be ashamed of if you’re medicated.

I take 10mg of methylphenidate, aka Ritalin, twice a day to manage my ADHD. It sure took some experimentation and several trips to my psychiatrist to get my dosage correct, but now that I’ve found what works for me, it’s working well to help me with my focus issues.

I’m parroting the wise words of a community member when I say this… To those who are struggling, you’ll know when you need medication. When you do, don’t fight it. Work with your doctor to find what’s right for you. That and coupled with psychotherapy, it’ll help you along tremendously.

image

EDIT for clarity: I don’t condone pharmaceuticals for the sake of pharmaceuticals. And I don’t condone not working through your issues and bypassing therapy and going straight to medication. Medication on its own, IMHO, does nothing but make you dependent on drugs. I am where I am now because I’ve been working hard for the past 6 months and coupled with the Ritalin that helps me focus, I am doing much better than I have before.

I am aware of the harmful side effects of pharmaceuticals – hence, why I’m one of the few people in America who don’t just take medication just because a doctor thinks I should. As such, if you’re going to be prescribed psychotropics, you need to be responsible to yourself and take the initiative to discuss the side effects and possible harms that could come from taking medication. Yes, there are plenty of doctors/psychiatrists out there who don’t care about you and only care about how much money they’ll make from pharmaceuticals. That said, it is on you to be clear about your needs and discuss them with your medical providers.

For me, Ritalin works and helps me more than the side effects. Without the Ritalin, I can’t even sit here and finish writing this blog post in the 10 minutes that it should take because I can’t concentrate on anything for more than that period of time. The side effect that I have experienced from this medication has been weight loss, lack of appetite and dehydration. The first two works for my favor as I’m actually pre-diabetic and was never able to stop eating for pleasure. Now I can actually control my diet and make better choices. The only thing that I have a real issue with is the dehydration because I never remember to drink enough water throughout the day – thus rendering me feeling blah all day. I guess I should’ve made myself clearer yesterday when I posted this post but as I was in a hurry to get out the door, I typed up whatever I could and posted it.

Thank you, Mary, for alerting me to the fact that my post wasn’t clear on the negative side of medication. My post is more to help destroy the stigma associated with medications and that just because someone takes medication, it doesn’t make them weak or unworthy.

5 thoughts on “Medicated And Mighty

  1. Mary says:

    Hello,
    I truly hope you have been fully educated on the short term, long term and withdrawal effects of anti-anxiety meds,.anti depressant meds and anti psychotic meds. I bet your doctor has not fully disclosed the horrible effects of being on them.more than 2 years. Please read Anatomy if an Epidemic by Robert Whittaker. I was on them for 15 years and got worse because of the meds and doctors said it was because my “illness” was getting worse. They were and are wrong. The meds made me worse. Please be fully educated before advocating people take meds. Pharmaceuticals is a business, they don’t care about you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JL says:

      Hi Mary, I am not advocating medicine per se. I’m advocating getting help. Perhaps I wasn’t very clear on that. I have struggled a lot with ADHD and the medication I’m taking helps me tremendously. I’m not for medication unless fully educated about its side effects.

      Thanks for the heads up though. My psychiatrist does want to medicate my anxiety and depression. I have refused. I’m working through psychotherapy for that.

      Anyway, this post is just to show that there should not be a stigma for medicating mental illness when necessary. I’m definitely against pharmaceuticals for the sake of pharmaceuticals. I’d like to help destroy the stigma that only crazy people take medication.

      Like

    • JL says:

      Oh yes, I’m aware of that. That’s why I was against my psychiatrist’s desire to medicate my anxiety and depression. My psychologist doesn’t want to offer his opinion on medication but judging from his body language though, he would rather us work through the depression with therapy. Which I’m all for.

      Like

  2. Mary says:

    I am glad you are doing well and doing more than just medication for yourself. You sound educated about the possible harmful side effects and withdrawal effects. It is difficult to see your blog for me because I almost died from the medications and many people have died from them but those stories never get published. And to see the medication shown in your blog makes it seem like that is the way to go and the only way to go and that it is as easy as just taking a pill to feel betterl. An advocacy group I am in is trying to also reduce the stigma of mental illness, but the way we are doing is to show that there is no such thing as mental illness. It is made up. It is socially constructed. What I went through is actually a normal human experience from what I endured. But to say that we are ill is where the stigma comes to play. We need to band together and instead prevent people from becoming mentally unwell in the first place, but if it does occur that we not label it bipolar or schizophrenia, etc. We say that the person went through a very traumatic event or time or experience. I went through a bad time mentally but there are reasons for it and getting to the underlying issues was difficult because our society grooms people to push problems aside or down or for men to behave a certain way and women to behave a certain way, and when the pressure of society or enduring trauma such as physical, verbal or sexual abuse or a death, guilt, etc. becomes so great our minds and bodies will say enough is enough and disassociate in order to try to survive the horrible ordeal, feelings, etc. The more we buy into the mental illness labels and medication treatment the more we are stigmatizing ourselves. Everyone’s path for healing and recovering will be different and to see your blog saying medication stops the stigma is actually doing the opposite. Anatomy of an Epidemic, Mad in America, The Body Keeps the Score, Beyond Prozac, and so many more books give the history of mental illness and more. Medications have only been around since 1955 and that was when the first one was used to treat mental illness. Then it was not until later on when Prozac came along and then more after that. So before 1955 medication was not even used. Religion used to be the means of controlling mental illness in many societies, but now that many people are not religious medicine is taking the role of controlling those that are mentally ill. I really feel that your medication and mighty is doing more harm than good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

