Rant About Noisy Classmates

So those of you who have been reading my blog since I started it would probably have read my post about this one classmate I have who is extremely loud and obnoxious. I had the misfortune of being in the same class as her last semester and had the worst time trying to focus in my class.

Well, it turns out that this semester, I take two classes with her. She is the ringleader type of character and is the queen bee of her little clique. We talk just fine but as much as I can, I avoid her and her little clique. I’m going to be 30 in a month’s time. I don’t need to clique to know my worth.

In any case, this morning, I arrived in class an hour early – traffic here is so unpredictable. The girl that sits next to me arrived about 5 minutes later and tells me she needs help in trig. Since I’m pretty good in math now, I help her.

As we discussed the math problems that she was having issues with, the noisy girl said to me and the girl I’m tutoring, “Hey, can you guys whisper? I can’t focus. You’re too loud!”

TOO LOUD??? TOO LOUD?!?!? We were too loud and disturbing her peace apparently. But I guess ALL the times she and her little peeps yap on and on about makeup, their dogs, their favorite shopping spots, their favorite foods and whatever other chat topics they’re on, they weren’t too loud. They weren’t disturbing others with their basic yammering. But I was disturbing her because I was teaching someone math. We weren’t even raising our voices and yelling over each other the way she and her little clique does. They often have to yell over each other because all the girls will want to talk all at once. The girl who sits next to me in trig and I were having a conversation about math in a decent volume and neither of us were being loud.

I’m pissed. I hope that I don’t ever have to be in the same class as this girl again. She often asks me questions that she doesn’t want answers to. It irks me when people ask me something for no reason. I don’t like people wasting my time. I can do that for myself. I already waste my own time really well already. I don’t need anyone else to help me do that.

I was tutoring loud girl math a few weeks ago and felt that my hour was completely a waste of my time as she wanted to do her own thing. I don’t understand that… I don’t understand why someone would ask someone something if they didn’t want the answer. Maybe I’m just too old to get it or maybe it’s a cultural problem but the teenagers and young “adults” here really piss me off.

And before anyone asks, no, I don’t usually say anything because I’m a non-confrontational person (and I don’t know why but I’m afraid of confrontations too), so I didn’t say anything back to this girl.

Leave a Reply

