Anxious For The Next Therapy Session

Some weeks, it seems like it’ll be forever before therapy day comes around again.

This is one of those weeks because I have so many things I want to talk about with my therapist!

I have so many thoughts I need his wise opinion on and so many feelings I need help processing.

In some ways, I feel like a child who is dependent on her parent to help her deal with growing up. In some ways, recovering from mental illness is like a child who is learning what it means to grow up where the therapist (a good one) mirrors what a good parent would do or say to their child and thus teaching the client what it is like to have positive feelings or rather, positive approaches to feelings.

Therapy is 3 days away and I know that for the past 4, I’ve been extremely volatile and angry. The theme seems to be “projecting my anger to others – particularly my husband”. I’m also getting a little anxious knowing that I have a lot to bring to my next session but 50 minutes isn’t going to be enough.

Now that I’m aware of the persistent theme of the week with anger though, I hope that I’ll be able to at least take a few deep breaths the next time I feel my rage bubbling up instead of acting on the anger and hurting others. I often forget to take a second to reevaluate things before I get irritated or angry.

Leave a Reply

