On Awesome Therapists and Writing About Therapy

I’m not going to lie.

My therapist is pretty freaking awesome!

I did write up a long post about my thoughts on therapy today but it just occurred to me that I don’t know if it’s ok for me to do that. I mean, yes, I posted my thoughts about my experience with mental illnesses and have mentioned therapy before but I’ve not actually posted an in-depth analysis of therapy sessions before. I just thought about the fact that therapy sessions are supposed to be confidential and that the therapist had promised that no information discussed within the confines of his office will leave his office.

So now, I’m wondering if it’s ok for a client to express their thoughts about their therapy experience. I mean, I don’t name names and I’m somewhat anonymous but I don’t know if that matters…

Anyone has any thoughts on this? I would email my therapist to ask but I don’t want to unnecessarily email him outside of sessions. I need to respect boundaries, right?

Oh, following what I first posted above… I had a satisfying but emotionally exhausting session today. And one where I didn’t go over time because my therapist made sure we didn’t.

Now, though suffering from a nasty shoulder and neck ache from all the emotional release, I’m feeling a lot more stable than I did last week. So if I can’t post my thoughts on therapy, then at least you guys know that I had a lot of things cleared up where my guilt was concerned and that I think I might be ok this week.

3 thoughts on “On Awesome Therapists and Writing About Therapy

  1. It’s good to know that you’re feeling a lot more stable than you did last week JL 🙂 and as far as you sharing details about your session, I think the therapist is more pressed not to share such details then you are, as you sharing may help in one way or another 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

