Thankful For My Purpose

I know that come this Thanksgiving, I have a lot to be thankful for. I’m thankful that despite my mood disorders, that I am reminded that I can still be a shining beacon of hope for someone who needs it. I’m thankful that despite how low I feel sometimes, that I can still do some good in someone else’s life. I’m thankful for all the people who have told me that I’ve helped them. I don’t think they realize how much it means to me to know that I still have a purpose in life, even if it was just to put a smile on their faces.

This week, over and over again, I’ve been reminded that I do have a purpose in this life – that maybe it’s just as simple as me saying something to someone that will impact their lives.

I guess I’ve always lived through life wondering if I’ll be the next Bill Gates or someone who make a global impact and when I realize that I might not, I tell myself that I must be a failure.

I have been reminded over and over again this week that I am my own competition and that just because I don’t touch lives on a global scale that it doesn’t mean that I’m purposeless. I need to rethink my own perceptions of success and what it means to do important things.

I am grateful for these reminders. And I’m grateful to know that despite my own problems, that it’s not impossible to love another, to encourage another and to be there for another.

2 thoughts on “Thankful For My Purpose

  1. “I need to rethink my own perceptions of success and what it means to do important things.” I’m in the same boat. You’re not a failure. Some people are also really traditionally successful, but never find their own purpose and aren’t self-actualized.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Alex! I am always comforted when I hear from you because you always have some great insights. I see what you mean and I realize that perhaps when we look over and see how great another person’s life is, we forget to look at all the pain and scars too – all the things that they might not feel fulfilled by. Thanks for the reminder!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

