May The Force Be With You

My brother said to me, “May the Force be with you”.

I actually caught myself saying, “And also with you”.

It was a funny moment and one that is funnier if you’re familiar with church tradition.

When I was in college (the first time), I attended an Anglican church again and while I attended the contemporary services mostly, sometimes I end up in the more traditional services. During these traditional services, the pastor would – at the end of service – intone “May the grace of God be with you” to which the congregation would then intone back, “And also with you”.

I cannot unhear this or unlearn it. I was only in that Anglican church for probably 2 years and I will never not think (or even say!) “And also with you” whenever someone says something along the lines of “May the ___ be with you” – you fill in the blank.

Yeah, I’m a nerd.

Btw, on a different note, I’m actually a Stargater first, Trekkie second, Browncoat third and not really a Star Wars fan. I like Empire Strikes Back and have recently purchased some Star Wars related shirts but I don’t think I’ll be anything other than an Empire fan – at least not until JJ Abrams converts me further.

Leave a Reply

