Thoughts on Spoilers

So I like spoilers. Let’s preface this post with that…

I don’t mind them and with my anxiety, I like knowing what’s coming. I like going into movies with the knowledge of what will happen. It doesn’t detract from enjoying the movies but in fact, actually enhances my experience! I’ve had many movies spoiled before and I’m never mad about it.

Sometimes, because of my absent-mindedness, I’ve also accidentally spoiled things for others. I don’t mean to do it, I just never remember that people haven’t seen the movies yet or that they are not like me when it comes to tolerating spoilers.

That said…

For some reason, this morning when I saw the picture that a friend of mine had taken of the scrolling marquee in the beginning of Star Wars: The Force Awakens, I got a little mad.

I’m a little surprised because I’m not even invested in this movie!

I don’t know why I was annoyed by said friend’s spoiler. If this had been Stargate or Star Trek, I think my annoyance would’ve been warranted as I love those two franchises more than I will ever of Star Wars!

Dr Ali Mattu, a psychologist based in New York, had an interesting video on The Psych Show about the psychology of spoilers. He said that the more invested you are in something, the more likely you are to hate a spoiler.  Check out his video below:

Anyway, I’m not sure why I feel this way about the spoiler for The Force Awakens. I thought it was an interesting reaction…

Leave a Reply

