Needing Some Attention

Last night (or rather, early this morning), when I posted about how down I was feeling, I had a response from Cavelle, the amazing blogger who writes at “Mental Break In Progress“, that was very uplifting and also empathetic. She not only said that she’s brought blankets so that we could build a blanket fort together but also that she understood what it was like to not want to talk to anyone and to just withdraw. More than that, she also gave me the time of day. She read my post and chose to respond.

I think that was maybe what I really needed at that time because when I woke up this morning, though still a little morose, I didn’t feel as bad as I did when I wrote the post.

Lots of people will tell you that they don’t want attention or sympathy, but just some understanding. They’re right. But I think at the same time we do also want *some* attention. At least in my experience, if I were to be absolutely honest, I do want some attention from the people who matter to me.

Anyway, I got what I needed – a little bit of attention, and a lot of love and understanding. Perhaps that’s why I’m not struggling as badly as I was.

Leave a Reply

