Project Semicolon 416

“On April 16, 2016, everyone who is feeling suicidal, struggling with mental illness, living with anxiety or unhappiness, self harming, surviving a broken heart, or learning to live without a loved one, post a picture of your semicolon, whether it’s drawn on your arm or tattooed, we want to see it.

A semicolon represents a sentence the author could’ve ended, but chose not to. The author is you and the sentence is your life.” – From Project Semicolon.

Below is my contribution to Project Semicolon‘s call out:

image

I’m still here. Despite having lost my battle to self harm just recently, my wounds are healing and I’m still here. In just 6 days, I’ll celebrate one full year of psychotherapy. It’s been a journey of mostly downs but I’m seeing progress because I’m beginning to reconnect with myself and slowly, with others as well.

This by no means claims that I’m now ok because I still struggle but at least for now, I’m still here. I’m learning to not be ashamed of my weaknesses and not to be ashamed to be mentally ill.

I don’t know what tomorrow will hold and in fact, I don’t even know how I’ll feel once my 10 hour shift at the restaurant ends tonight but I’m going to try to plug along. For now, I’m just surviving and it doesn’t seem like it’s much of a life but I promised S that I’d at least try. So I’m going to try. Maybe someday, maybe soon, I’ll come to see that life does get better as everyone keeps claiming it to be.

For now, at least, I have a husband who loves me and a psychologist who is supporting me. I think I’m very fortunate in that way and so I’m thankful.

#semicolonproject416 #projectsemicolon

Leave a Reply

